Commissioners & Superintendent

The Oyster Bay Water district has three water district commissioners: Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary.

Each year, district residents vote for one of the three commissioner positions. The term of office is three years.

The Oyster Bay Water District is part of the Town of Oyster Bay and is a member of the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association and the Long Island Water Conference.

Board of Commissioners

Robert J. McEvoy


A headshot of Robert J. McEvoy

Robert J. McEvoy, Commissioner and Chairman of the Oyster Bay Water District serving as Commissioner since 2002. He is currently the First Vice-Chairman of the Long Island Water Conference. He has previously served the Town of Oyster Bay in the Comptroller’s Office from 1981-2016, and as President of the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners Association in 2012. Mr. McEvoy is currently the Treasurer and a Board Member of New York 811. Mr. McEvoy has also been a volunteer firefighter in the Oyster Bay Fire Department since 1975, serving as Chief from 1986-1988 and as President from 1991-1992. He has served as Fifth Battalion Chiefs Organization President in 2003 as well as being part of the New York State Government Finance Officers' Association from 1989-2016. He is an active member of the New York Chapter of the American Water Works Association and has served as an Adjunct Professor at LIU Post. He received his B.S. in Finance from NYIT and Masters in Public Administration from LIU Post.

Michael F. Rich, III


A headshot of Michael F. Rich, III

Mr. Rich brings to the Oyster Bay Water District over 21 years of experience as a Bay Constable with the Town of Oyster Bay and currently holds the position of Sergeant of the Bay Constables. He is a graduate of SUNY Old Westbury and belongs to several professional organizations, including serving as President of the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners Association in 2019, Long Island Water Conference, Fraternal Order of Police, NYS Harbor Master Association. His knowledge and understanding of water resources and NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation Regulations will assist the Board of Commissioners in overseeing the administration and operations of the Water District.

Richard P. Niznik


A headshot of Richard P. Niznik

Richard P. Niznik serves as the Treasurer of the Oyster Bay Water District since 2005 and is a member of both the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association and the Long Island Water Conference. Mr. Niznik is a Vietnam Veteran serving in the US Army Corp of Engineers from 1964-66. He brings to the Water District 42 years of Public Works experience where he served as Assistant Superintendent of Highway for Nassau County. He is an active member of the Atlantic Steamer Fire Company since 1961, serving as Chief from 1973 through 1975, and Treasurer both before and after being Chief. He served as President of the Fifth Battalion Chiefs Organization in 1982 and currently serves as Treasurer and Board Member of the Oyster Bay Firemen’s Benevolent Association. His knowledge of Public Works as well as his commitment to the community is a great asset to the Water District.

Edward Dupre


Karen Testa

Office Manager

Lisa Natale


Accessibility Options